Email Gluten-free is Life

Barbara’s Puffins – Gluten-free?

Gluten-free or not? That is the question. Yes, Barbara’s Honey Rice Puffins are gluten-free – they are made with no gluten-ingredients and are marked “gluten-free” on the box. I eat them all the time with no issue and both Jon & I are very sensitive.    Now, there is a new variety of Puffins that is marked “gluten-free”. Multi-Grain Puffins. Here are the ingredients:

Ingredients: Corn Flour, Dehydrated Cane Juice, Brown Rice Flour, Whole Oat Flour, Fructan (NutraFlora® Natural Dietary Fiber), Oat Hull Fiber, Calcium Carbonate, Natural Flavor, Baking Soda, Natural Caramel Color, Sea Salt, Ascorbic Acid, Iron, Annatto, Vitamin D, Vitamin E (Mixed Tocopherols [Soy]).

Allergy Statement: No peanut ingredients used in this facility. Made on equipment that also manufactures products containing soy, wheat, milk, almonds and hazelnuts.

Free Of: Artifical Flavors, Colors or Preservatives. No Cholesterol, Hydrogenated Oils or Trans Fats.

There is nothing on the site or box that I could see that specifies whether or not the oats are certified gluten-free. I sent an email to Barabra’s yesterday and am waiting to hear back. I would love it if they were made with the certified gluten-free oats because I am a huge fan of Puffins and would love to have another variety to enjoy!

What are certified gluten-free oats? They are oats that have not been contaminated with gluten from the gluten-containing grains they are processed with.

I am patiently awaiting a response from Barbara’s. I will make sure to update here when I hear something.

4 comments to Barbara’s Puffins – Gluten-free?

  • Candice

    But they are still made on machines that process wheat. Is this something to be concerned about?

  • Candice,

    The Honey Rice Puffins aren't the ones in question. Sorry if this is confusing. It is the new, Multi-Grain Puffins that are marked "Gluten-free" on the box, but yet have the oat flour & oat fiber and nothing talking about whether or not the oats are certified gluten-free.


  • Shelley

    Regardless of whether or not the oats are certified GF, there is always a risk of cross-contamination in any food produced in a facility that also produces gluten containing foods. Your best chance is to purchase only items certified gluten free. Foods simply labeled gluten free are by law allowed to contain some gluten – small amount or not it can still cause reactions leading to damage and long term effects which can can produce devastating illnesses. Visit or or other similar sites for more information.

  • Stephani

    I was wondering the same thing. They were recently bought by Wheatabix and I've noticed a reaction to their standard Puffins "regular" cereal. But I found this article that explains the new "multi-grain" version. Seems they are aware of the cross contamination from equipment.

    "We thoroughly sanitize and test the equipment before production

    We only make our gluten-free products when no other production lines are running

    We batch test and product must be under 20PPM

    No product leaves our facility until we get back the clean test results"

    See full article here:

Leave a Reply