Barbara’s Puffins Update

As I posted the other day, I was confused about the labeling on the new Multigrain Puffins. I sent an email to Barbara’s and here is the response I got:

Hi Kimberly,

Thanks for your inquiry and comments about the oat flour in our new Multigrain Puffins.

Barbara’s Multigrain Puffins contain only “pure” oats, which are certified uncontaminated.

As you may know, for many years those adhering to a gluten-free diet omitted oats due to cross-contamination with wheat, rye and barley. Barbara’s commitment to a true wheat-gluten free product led us to purchase “pure” oats.

These oats cost almost four times as much as conventional oats but the result is a truly wheat gluten-free oat. Our oat products are certified by the Gluten-free Certification Organization (GFCO) and tested by ELISA (enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay). Further, our production team follows strict protocols to make and package Multigrain Puffins to avoid possible cross-contamination. We test every batch through a third party accredited lab. No product leaves our facility until we get back the clean test results. By ensuring quality at each step, Barbara’s Bakery is able to guarantee a safe, delicious and nutritious gluten-free cereal.

What do authoritative organizations say about pure oats?
Recent studies show that pure oats can be safely eaten in a gluten-free food plan. Several authoritative organizations are now allowing for oats in a gluten-free diet:
– In April 2008, the American Dietetic Association’s hot topic on the inclusion of oats in a gluten-free diet stated, “although oats contain the gluten protein, avenin, research shows that pure oats in moderation (1 cup, cooked) are safe for most people with CD (celiac disease), however, most oats and oat products sold can be cross-contaminated with gluten-containing grains.”
– The American Dietetics Association’s Nutrition Care Manual patient education materials state, “In the past oats were believed to be harmful to persons with celiac disease. Based on recent research, moderate amounts of uncontaminated oats are now considered safe to include in a gluten-free nutrition prescription. However, commercially available oats in the United States may be contaminated with small amounts of wheat, barley, or rye.”
– Health Canada and the Canadian Celiac Association (CCA) conclude that the “majority of people with celiac disease can tolerate moderate amounts of pure oats.”

Additionally, I asked about the PB, Cinnamon & Original Puffins and they are NOT gluten-free. Here is a list of gluten-free products that Barbara’s offers:

Below are listings of Gluten Free Products and products made with Gluten Free Ingredients. This information can also be found on our Web site at, click on Healthy Lifestyles, select Special Diets from the menu on the upper left corner of the page.


MADE WITH GLUTEN FREE INGREDIENTS: (Because we don’t test for gluten and do not manufacture in gluten free environments, we cannot guarantee that there is no cross contamination from gluten containing grains in these products.)

Cheese Puffs, Original
Cheese Puff Bakes, Original
Cheese Puff Bakes, White Cheddar


GLUTEN FREE (tested to contain less than 20 ppm of gluten)

Honey Rice Puffins Cereal
Multigrain Puffins (made with gluten free oats)
Brown Rice Crisps, Organic
Corn Flakes, Organic


We hope this information helps you out with your dietary needs.

So, there you have it. I am going to be on the lookout for the Multigrain Puffins so that I can give them a try. I love the Honey Rice Puffins – so I am hopeful! 🙂




Related Posts with Thumbnails
This entry was posted in Uncategorized by admin. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *