A sample text widget

Etiam pulvinar consectetur dolor sed malesuada. Ut convallis euismod dolor nec pretium. Nunc ut tristique massa.

Nam sodales mi vitae dolor ullamcorper et vulputate enim accumsan. Morbi orci magna, tincidunt vitae molestie nec, molestie at mi. Nulla nulla lorem, suscipit in posuere in, interdum non magna.

Gluten-Free or Not? Wine.

It was once again brought to my attention that while the majority of wine is gluten-free, it may be aged in oak barrels that are sealed with wheat paste.  According to a recent study by Tricia Thompson, MS, RD and contributors Amy Jones, MS, RD, Lisa Almenoff, MS, RD, Luke Emerson-Mason (Bia Diagnostics), Thomas Grace (Bia Diagnostics), Kristin Voorhees (NFCA), Cheryl McEvoy (NFCA) and FA (winery), wine aged in oak barrels sealed with wheat paste appears to be gluten-free

The sampling test relied on two different tests for gluten detection – the Sandwich R5 ELISA and the Competitive R5 ELISA.  The article and results can be viewed in entirety here


I drink wine on a very regular basis.  I love nothing more than a glass of cabernet or pinot noir with dinner.  I have to be honest, I haven’t really given much thought to checking the gluten-free status of my wine because it never seemed to cause me issues (not the right answer, for the record) and while I had heard about the possibility of oak barrels being sealed with wheat paste, there wasn’t much information out there. 

Do you drink wine?  Have you ever checked the gluten-free status of the wine before drinking it? 

Don’t forget to enter to win one of 5 prize packages from Kit’s Organic Fruit & Nut bars.

Related Posts with Thumbnails

Leave a Reply




You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>