Email Gluten-free is Life

kim@glutenfreeislife.com

Some Disappointing News & a Hot Topic

I heard through the grapevine that General Mills has discontinued Strawberry Chex due to poor sales. This means no more Chocolate Chex mixed with Strawberry! I guess I should cherish my half open box in my pantry, huh? RIP, Strawberry Chex. Feel free to call & voice your opinion: 1-800-248-7310.

*************************************************************************************

Another discontinued product – Whole Foods has discontinued it’s 365 Everyday Value Gluten-free Mixes line. I found this upsetting news on Gluten-free Philly’s blog.

*************************************************************************************

With Valentine’s day coming up, I thought it was important to share this article I wrote for Celiac-Disease.com. Some candy that is gluten-free in its regular form may not be gluten-free in its holiday form. Please beware!

*************************************************************************************

There has been yet another recall for undeclared wheat. You can read more about it here.

*************************************************************************************

Now, a possible hot topic. I was on Twitter today when I came across a Tweet from @jenniferGFinGA mentioning that “Tofurky’s Lemon Pepper Tempeh is labeled #GF, but wheat is in the ingredient listing”. I went to Tofurky’s site to investigate this. Here is what I found:

Ingredients: Organic soybeans, water, shoyu soy sauce (water, GMO-free soybeans, wheat, salt, culture), garlic, organic evaporated cane juice, lemon juice concentrate, organic apple cider vinegar, sea salt, black pepper, culture (rhizopus oligosporous).
Contains: Soybeans, wheat*.
*Wheat used in fermentation of soy sauce but independent lab tests detect no residual gluten.

What are your thoughts on that? Would you eat the product? Is this a situation like that of the McD’s fries where there is no gluten present after the processing of the flavoring in the oil? Or like vinegars & alcohols that are made from fermented grains & then distilled and then considered to be “gluten-free? I did send an email to Tofurky just to get their thoughts (that was also before I saw the part about the independent lab tests). Is that enough for you? I’ll share my thoughts in another post. I am curious to see what you all have to say.

9 comments to Some Disappointing News & a Hot Topic

Leave a Reply