Email Gluten-free is Life

kim@glutenfreeislife.com

Recent Comments

    Starbucks Pumpkin Latte Update

    As suggested in my Pumpkin Spice Latte Fans Beware post, I emailed Starbucks to get the ingredient list from the pumpkin spice syrups. This is the response that I received:

    Hello Kim,

    Thank you for contacting Starbucks Coffee Company.

    Our Pumpkin Spice Syrup that is used in the ‘regular’ and ‘skinny’ drinks contains the following:

     

    Sugar, Condensed Nonfat Milk, Sweetened Condensed Nonfat Milk, Annatto (E160b, Colour), Natural and Artificial Flavours, Caramel Colour (E150D), Salt, Potassium Sorbate (E202, a preservative).

     

    A little additional information that may be helpful or neat is that one pump of syrup contains approximately 20 calories.

     

    I hope that I have been able to provide you with some useful information.

     

    If you have any further questions or concerns that I was unable to address, please feel free to let me know.

    Warm Regards,

    D.
    Customer Relations
    Starbucks Coffee Company
    800 23-LATTE (235-2883)
    Monday through Friday, 5AM to 8PM (PST)

    All in all, the only ingredient that I see that could contain gluten would be the “Natural & Artificial Flavors”. While wheat is required to be called out on labels by law, rye, barley & oats are not. It is not likely that the flavoring contains rye or oats, but it certainly could contain barley malt flavoring. My opinion is that it is not likely that the ingredients have changed and this product has been gluten-free in the past. Does that mean I am going to drink one or say that I think it is safe for others on the gluten-free diet to drink one? No.

    On my last post Jenn suggested a way to make these at home.

    Well, you can always make your own Probably healthier that way too! I don’t think they are very complicated to make, as long as you can make a homemade latte. I think all you have to add in to a standard latte is some pumpkin purée, pumpkin pie spices (cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice etc.), and then sweetener of your choice – you should be able to do a pretty decent copy cat at home where you can make sure of its gluten-free ness

    I am lazy when it comes to this stuff, but I guess it will all depend on how bad I want a PSL! Another option would be the pumpkin spice creamers made by International Delight and Coffee-Mate. New England flavored coffees are gluten-free and have a pumpkin spice version, in addition to a couple of other great fall flavors. Caribou Coffee has a pumpkin latte on their menu right now. I have an email out to them to verify the gluten-free status. I will make sure to update with that information when I get it. I have a feeling that it is gluten-free, but want to make sure before I try it out.

    Leave a Reply