I had heard the rumors a few months back that Rice Krispies were going to be gluten-free soon and even saw a picture of a box that said “Gluten-Free” on the front, yet Kellogg’s was remaining silent on the issue. Until now. Lookie here….
*Image Courtesy of Kellogg’s
Doesn’t that just tickle your fancy?! I have been wanting to use that phrase for a while and am thrilled that I finally found a chance to do so. Now, back to my post. More on the Gluten-Free Rice Krispies:
Kellogg’s® Rice Krispies® Gluten Free cereal
After hearing from so many gluten-free families out there, we’re happy to bring you NEW Kellogg’s® Rice Krispies® Gluten Free cereal, made with brown rice. It’ll be available in June, so be sure to ask your local supermarket to stock up!
Ingredients: Whole grain brown rice, sugar, contains 2% or less of salt, BHT for freshness.
Vitamins and Minerals: Iron, vitamin C (ascorbic acid), vitamin E (alpha tocopherol acetate), niacinamide, vitamin A palmitate, vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), vitamin B2 (riboflavin), vitamin B1 (thiamin hydrochloride), folic acid, vitamin D, vitamin B12.
Anyone else really stinkin’ excited?!? I don’t know if I am excited that I will have the Rice Krispies to eat again or if it is because another mainstream company that makes cereal is jumping on the gluten-free bandwagon. There are gluten-free versions of Rice Krispies, but they aren’t the same. In fact, I can’t wait to try them side by side to see how different (or maybe even the same) they are.
I love that the ingredient list is simple. No HFCS. Yes, there is sugar, but I would much rather there be real sugar than a chemically altered sugar added. Another bonus, the gluten-free version is made with brown rice, the original is not. The gluten-free also has 10 less calories & 1 more gram of protein. Little things make me happy.
Once the product is on the market, you can go here and see where you can find it close to you.
Now, I must go do my happy dance.