Email Gluten-free is Life

Gluten-Free or Not? Wine.

It was once again brought to my attention that while the majority of wine is gluten-free, it may be aged in oak barrels that are sealed with wheat paste.  According to a recent study by Tricia Thompson, MS, RD and contributors Amy Jones, MS, RD, Lisa Almenoff, MS, RD, Luke Emerson-Mason (Bia Diagnostics), Thomas Grace (Bia Diagnostics), Kristin Voorhees (NFCA), Cheryl McEvoy (NFCA) and FA (winery), wine aged in oak barrels sealed with wheat paste appears to be gluten-free

The sampling test relied on two different tests for gluten detection – the Sandwich R5 ELISA and the Competitive R5 ELISA.  The article and results can be viewed in entirety here


I drink wine on a very regular basis.  I love nothing more than a glass of cabernet or pinot noir with dinner.  I have to be honest, I haven’t really given much thought to checking the gluten-free status of my wine because it never seemed to cause me issues (not the right answer, for the record) and while I had heard about the possibility of oak barrels being sealed with wheat paste, there wasn’t much information out there. 

Do you drink wine?  Have you ever checked the gluten-free status of the wine before drinking it? 

Don’t forget to enter to win one of 5 prize packages from Kit’s Organic Fruit & Nut bars.

7 comments to Gluten-Free or Not? Wine.

  • I drink wine and I never thought of wheat being involved. I drink such inexpensive wine there is probably not oak involved either.

  • Karen

    I have Celiac Disease and drink wine at least once or twice a week. I really enjoy it and I have never had problems in the last 4 1/2 years. It is one thing I can always count on. If it has and wheat involved, I sure can't tell.

  • This is getting unbelievable as to new information about things containing gluten . and other problems that directly effect us like Arsenic in Rice and also they say that Celiacs should not drink coffee because there is a protein in the coffee that can trigger reactions and now there is the wine issue. i won't have to worry about trying to lose weight there will be nothing to eat left that may be on the fattening side.

    • Ellen,

      I hear you. I am starting to feel very overwhelmed with all of the information. I feel like I want to fully understand, but at the same time can't help but feel like that is impossible!


  • Krysten

    When I lived in the Azores, a friend went to a winery and posted pictures on facebook and there was flour all over the floor, etc. from the barrels and that's what clued me in. So now I email companies to ask before I have a glass.

Leave a Reply