Okay, so I hope you all got a nice giggle out of the title of my blog post that went up last night. I am sure you figured out that it was supposed to say “Gluten-free Pantry”, not “Gluten-free Panty”. I have corrected it, however, it seems as if the title can’t be corrected once it is published. So, while I could delete the entire post & start over, I decided to leave it up and provide you all with some comic relief. If that doesn’t make you laugh, you must really be having a bad day. 😉
On a real, serious topic, I was browsing Twitter this morning after I slept in and came across a conversation about Godiva chocolate and whether or not it was gluten-free. I saw many responses – some said it was, some said it wasn’t. I shot Godiva a quick email and already got a response:
Thank you for your email and your interest in Godiva Chocolatier.
All of our chocolates may contain gluten due to our manufacturing process.
An individual should NOT consume any of our products if they have a gluten allergy or any other restrictions for gluten consumption.
Thank you for your interest in Godiva.
Customer Care Department
Godiva Chocolatier, Inc.
Take Prompt #3
7 days a week
8:00 am to 11:00 pm ET
Is that the classic “CYA” statement because the candy may be processed on the same line as chocolate that does contain gluten or does the chocolate really have gluten (most likely barley malt) in some flavoring? I have no idea, but I can assure you that I won’t be testing it out anytime soon.
This conversation came up at a really good time as I have been emailing chocolate & candy companies this week to get a good list compiled for the upcoming Halloween & Christmas season. There are many other companies out there that make amazing gluten-free chocolate, so crossing Godiva off of the list isn’t really that big of a deal. Green & Black’s organic chocolate, Dagoba chocolate, Endangered Species chocolate are a few of my favorites.